KC SmartPort Blog

<< Return to Blog List

Investor Profile | Hillwood & Kansas Speedway Corporation

by Mary Rooney | Feb 02, 2021

Founded by Ross Perot, Jr. in 1988, Hillwood is a leading, privately-held real estate development firm with a proven history of delivering long-term results for customers, partners and investors in the U.S., Canada, U.K., and Europe. Hillwood has developed or acquired more than 205.3 million sq. ft. of industrial property across 24 states and five countries for over 575 tenants.  

Rooted in a strong entrepreneurial vision, Hillwood is committed to bringing long-term value to customers and partners through real estate development, investments and public-private partnerships. From innovative, smart mixed-use communities to large-scale master-planned developments that represent every real estate asset class, Hillwood seeks opportunities to apply its expertise and build strong, sustainable and forward-thinking projects.

In Kansas City, Hillwood is partnering with the Kansas Speedway Corporation to develop Speedway Commerce Center, a multi-phase business park offering flexibility for prospective tenants with a variety of size options available to suit. This strategic location offers tenants easy access to Union Pacific and BNSF intermodals via I-70 and an abundant labor pool. Its goal is to create jobs and increase wealth within the community.

For more information visit Hillwood.com or contact Greg Scovitch.

Kansas Speedway Corporation
Kansas Speedway is a premier motorsports facility in the Midwest. The track, which opened in 2001, hosts two NASCAR Cup Series weekends each year, along with approximately 200 other event days each year. The Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway, which opened in 2012, overlooks Turn 2 of the track. Kansas Speedway is owned by The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). 

NASCAR is the sanctioning body for the number one form of motorsports in the United States and owner of 16 of the nation’s major motorsports entertainment facilities. NASCAR consists of three national series (NASCAR Cup Series™, NASCAR Xfinity Series™, and NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series™), four regional series (ARCA Menards Series, ARCA Menards Series East & West and the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour), one local grassroots series and three international series. The International Motor Sports Association™ (IMSA®) governs the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship™, the premier U.S. sports car series. NASCAR also owns Motor Racing Network, Racing Electronics, Americrown Service and ONE DAYTONA. Based in Daytona Beach, Florida, with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. 

For more information visit NASCAR.com and IMSA.com, and follow NASCAR on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat (‘NASCAR’).

Leave a comment



Media Coverage